A Thirst and Hunger For Righteousness


I pray in the name of Jesus, that as you read this there will be, a demonstration of the power of the Holy Spirit, operating in your minds, and stirring your hearts and minds with the most holy emotions. I pray that this post will be inspired by the Holy Spirit, for without His inspiration these are mere words. Finally, i pray like Paul prayed for the Ephesians, to the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, that He may grant you a spirit of wisdom and revelation, of insight into mysteries and secrets in the deep and intimate knowledge of Him; By having the eyes of your heart flooded with light, so that you can know and understand the hope to which He has called you, and how rich is His glorious inheritance in the saints (His set-apart ones).

I cannot begin to put in words how thirsty and hungry i have found myself for a deeper knowledge and understanding of who God is, and how much i want to be what He wants me to be, and to be holy as He is holy. I have found that i’m in a real big need of help for this. For example, sometimes i may behave nice to someone, but deep inside there’s something not right. Something yelling out at them and in constrast to my visible actions. And it doesn’t bother me one bit about admitting and sharing this, because i have come to have hope and put my faith in the promises of God, that my heart will be purified by His greatness of the power.

I’m happy i can feel the thirst in my heart for Holiness, because that’s the first step to allowing God to transform you and transfigure you into His likeness. God spoke to me some days ago and He said: ‘I am always ready to transform you, if you are humble enough to let me. I give more grace to the humble, and empower them to do what i want them to do, and to be equal to anything. But i set myself against the proud and the haughty. They are too proud to realise they need help. For it is Not by your power nor by your might or striving but by My Spirit, who lives in you’  

The Bible says those that hunger and thirst for righteousness will be completely satisfied(Matthew 5:6). If you want to be a fruit bearing christian, the first step is to have that hunger and thirst. Ask God to reveal the darkness in your life, and when He does, admit to your weaknesses. That way He will give you grace to overcome your shortcomings and weaknesses. He will shine His light upon you, and lift you up from the miry clay, setting your feet upon a rock. I have also come to realise that the only way God’s power can be revealed through my life, is through my weaknesses. If i’m strong, then i’m not in need of His power. But because i am weak, i’m strong IN HIM, and His power comes upon me and pitches a tent over me.

I have truly come to realise that the christian life is based on grace through faith. Everything we get from God is a gift of grace. We never deserve it. But because of the cross, God looks to the right of His throne, and Jesus intercedes for us continually, therefore IN CHRIST, we deserve the grace of God. But we can not receive God’s grace if we do not believe. We are saved by grace through faith (Ephesians 2:8) and this could apply to many other ways in which God bestows his grace upon his children. Faith is the hand receiving the grace of God already made available.  We need to come like little children, and believe what God says without any doubt, and receive his power to overcome every evil tendency. I dare you to believe the promises of God today. Only believe and you will see the glory of God(John 11:40). And even then, apart from Him WE CAN DO NOTHING. He is the vine and we are the branches. If the branches are cut away from the tree, can they bear any fruits?(John 15:5). Therefore, we should cry out daily to the Lord and lift up our voices to His holy mountain saying, ‘HELP MY UNBELIEF'(Mark 9:24). At that point He comes to our rescue, and through His word, helps our unbelief, for Faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God.

God is sovereign. He reigns in all the affairs of men. He sits on His throne and laughs in mockery at the foolishness of the supposedly wise people in the world, and He delights in the ways of the righteous, for they are the ones that are truly wise. For their wisdom is not of their own, but of Him. He uses the weak and foolish things in the world for His glory, and shames the wisdom of man through them. The knowledge of the sovereign Lord, and the true belief in the truth that JESUS IS LORD, brings the people of God into a state of rest and peace. The knowledge of this has transformed and renewed my mind in a great way, for i know that all things work together for those that love God and are called according to His purpose. I don’t have to live in fear or anxiety, because Jesus is Lord. I don’t have to care about my circumstances because Jesus is Lord. O death, where is thy sting, o grave where is thy victory? For to live is Christ, and to die is gain. And Jesus has defeated sin and death, and by the glorious power of the Father, was raised from the dead and is now seated at His right hand. The Lord may not always take away my difficulties and problems; No, He may even give me more and more of them and afflict me as He pleases. For can the potter say to the clay, ‘Why have you made me thus so?’. The Lord sits on His throne. Our God is in heaven; He does whatever He pleases(Psalm 115:3). But in this will i rejoice in and will i bless the name of the Lord: He is faithful to His promises. He is abundant in mercy, grace and lovingkindness. He never gives His people more than they can bear(1 Corinthians 10:13) and He always provides a way out where there seems to be no way. He is true to His promises, and He will never leave us nor forsake us in our weaknesses. He strengthens and hardens His chosen ones to difficulties, yes He will help them; Yes He will hold them up and retain them with His victorious right hand of rightness and justice(Isaiah 41:10).

Therefore i have an eternal hope. A hope that never dies. For that same power that lifted up Jesus from the dead is at work in me. Think of a hurricane or the fiercest of storms; still that power is greater than all of these. Therefore, i rejoice in the hope of experiencing and enjoying the glory of God by the power of the Spirit in me.The surpassing, immeasurable, unlimited, greatness of His power in and for us who believe, bringing us into deeper knowledge of God and the wonders of His person, exerting that power in us, that He may also continually restore our mortal bodies. For death comes by the works of the flesh, by Life by the fruits of the works of the Spirit in us. Therefore, i offer my body as an implement of righteousness, becoming a slave and prisoner to the will of the Spirit. I present my body, mind, will, and emotions, as a living sacrifice, holy, devoted, consecrated, and well pleasing to God which is my reasonable service and spiritual worship.

Now i don’t have to worry about anything. I look to the Face of the Lord, and not His hands. For when i look to His face, He opens His hands. Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and all its righteousness and all these other things shall be added unto you.

One thing have I asked of the Lord, that will I seek, inquire for, and insistently require: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord [in His presence] all the days of my life, to behold and gaze upon the beauty, the sweet attractiveness and the delightful loveliness of the Lord and to meditate, consider, and inquire in His temple(Psalm 27:4). And that one thing He has granted me by the blood of the Lamb, and by the righteousness He imputes to His people; For the righteous shall be planted in the house of the Lord. They shall flourish in His courts. Growing in grace, they shall still bring forth fruit in old age; they shall be full of sap [of spiritual vitality] and [rich in the] verdure [of trust, love, and contentment](Psalm 92:13-14). He just wants us to come as we are. With all our broken pieces, and all our shameful scars. He wants to heal us with the power of His love. He wants to set us free, for where the Spirit of the Lord is there is liberty. Free from sin, fear, doubt, strivings, labor, tiredness, hopelessness, shame… the list is countless. He wants to give us beauty for ashes. The beauty of Holiness. For He said: Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. [I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.](Matthew 11:28). Leave your luggage for the Lord in His presence, and take His yoke upon yourself. For His yoke is wholesome, useful, goodnot harsh, hard, sharp, or pressing, but comfortable, gracious, and pleasant, and His burden is light and easy to be borne.

        For my determined purpose is that i may know Him…

One thought on “A Thirst and Hunger For Righteousness”

Leave a Reply

